top of page
  • Writer's pictureAminah Yossef

Cilantro and Lemon-Infused Chicken and Caramelized Plantains

Updated: Sep 26, 2019

Brazilian dishes are filled with some of the most beautiful ingredients and flavors and I just love working with them to create delicious meals! I marinated chicken breasts in a lemon, garlic, and cilantro marinade before pan-frying the chicken on the stove top. I used an olive oil base to get a nice sear and crunch on the chicken which I then plated on top of my homemade cilantro-lime rice that I love to make when we get bored of plain white rice. I also made some fried plantains on the side for added sweetness and flavor to the table when serving this for dinner!

I like to serve this with some fresh slices of lemon and cilantro to really accent those bold flavors in the chicken.

Plantains are some of my favorite foods to make! They are so versatile, and caramelizing them was a perfect fit for this meal.

I love using global cuisine to inspire the dishes I create for you all. It breaks me out of my shell and allows me to experiment with new flavors and I love sharing that with you guys! One of my favorite sides to make with South American dishes are plantains. These starchy foods can be cooked in a variety of ways. I chose to use fully ripened plantains that I then fried until golden and topped with some fresh honey before serving.


This recipe was a complete hit with us! It is without a doubt one of the best ways I have ever cooked chicken. It was cooked perfectly, with the juice of the marinade becoming slightly caramelized which allowed for the lemon and cilantro to really pull through the rest of the spices. Our main meat of choice is usually a boneless chicken breast, so I always try to find unique ways to cook and season the chicken to build various experiences with eating and plating it.


I made my cilantro lime rice with this dish. For the recipe, click on the link below!

 

Prep Time: 45 minutes Serves: 2 People

Cook Time: 15 minutes

Total Time: 60 minutes


INGREDIENTS

  • 2 Boneless, skinless chicken breasts

  • 1/4 cup Olive oil

  • 1/4 cup Cilantro, roughly chopped

  • 4-5 Garlic cloves, minced

  • Juice from 1 Lemon

  • 2 tsp. Paprika

  • 1/2 Tbsp. Cumin

  • 1 tsp. Salt

  • 1 tsp. Pepper

  • 1/2 tsp. Lemon Pepper

For Plantains:

  • 1 Plantain, sliced into 1'' coins

  • 1 cup Vegetable Cooking Oil

  • 1/4 cup Honey


INSTRUCTIONS

  1. Flatten the chicken breasts so that they are approximately the same thickness throughout (this makes for a better cook). Score the chicken very gently, creating small incisions so that the chicken can be fully marinated. Add the chicken to a large Ziploc bag.

  2. In a separate small bowl, mix the olive oil, cilantro, garlic, lemon, and spices until combined. Pour the mixture on top of the chicken and seal the bag. Once sealed, make sure that the the chicken is fully covered in the mixture. Place in the fridge for about 45 minutes to allow the chicken to marinate.

  3. In a large skillet, heat up the vegetable oil for the plantains over medium heat.

  4. Place about half of the plantain slices into the skillet and pan-fry them. You want to give them about 2 minutes on each side. (Keep flipping them until you get a golden brown color on the outside).

  5. When they are fully cooked, set them on a plate covered in a paper towel to catch any excess oil. Repeat this with the second batch of plantains. Drizzle the fried plantains in honey and serve.

  6. For the marinated chicken, heat a medium skillet on medium heat. Add in the chicken breast and allow them to cook for about 6-8 minutes on each side, or until there is no more pink left in the chicken.

  7. Once the chicken is cooked through, raise the heat to a medium high and spoon the juices on top of the chicken to incorporate more flavor throughout while caramelizing the outside of the chicken.

  8. Serve the chicken on a plate of rice alongside the fried plantains and enjoy!


229 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page