top of page
  • Writer's pictureAminah Yossef

Homemade Burrito Bowl

Updated: Oct 23, 2019

I absolutely love a good homemade burrito bowl. They are so deliciously filling and made with such bold and flavorful ingredients. This bowl has a cilantro-lime rice and black bean base. I then topped it with seasoned grilled chicken, corn salsa, guacamole, queso fresco, and sour cream! These homemade burrito bowls are loaded with savory and zesty flavors, and I love topping them off with a squeeze of fresh lime juice and cilantro!

Top this burrito bowl off with my homemade Guacamole dip and the Pico de Gallo dip that I shared in my Taquito recipe! (Link below)

The rice in this dish adds just the right amount of zest to the rest of the ingredients. The cilantro, garlic, and lime work perfectly as a base to this meal.

Chipotle is one of my favorite places to eat, but it would create a hole in my wallet if I bought it every time I wanted some. For that reason, I decided to create a homemade version to save money and create it just how I like it. I changed up the spices a bit to cater to my palate and I think you guys will love it too!


Burrito bowls, if you haven't been introduced to this heavenly dish, are pretty much a burrito without the mess and carb overload! The ingredients are layered to perfection and you can add them any way you like, and with more toppings like steak, salsa verde, or brown rice!


While my favorite part of this dish is the fluffy, cilantro lime rice, the rest of the dish works beautifully together also! My husband and I love it just as much as the original, if not more, and I hope you guys do too!


Here is the link to my guacamole and Pico de Gallo recipes:


https://aminahy017.wixsite.com/born-a-petite/menu/cheesy-chicken-oven-baked-taquitos

 

Prep Time: 20 minutes Serves: 2 People

Cook Time: 30 minutes

Total Time: 50 minutes


INGREDIENTS


For the Cilantro-Lime Rice

  • 1 cup Golden rice, uncooked

  • 1/3 cup Cilantro, chopped

  • Juice of 2 Limes

  • 2 Tbsp. Unsalted butter, cut into small cubes

  • Salt and Pepper to taste

For the Chicken and Toppings

  • 2 Boneless, skinless chicken breasts, chopped into bite-size pieces

  • 1 Tbsp. Olive oil

  • 1 tsp. Salt

  • 1/2 tsp. Black pepper

  • 1 tsp. Garlic powder

  • 1 tsp. Onion powder

  • 1/2 tsp. Paprika

  • Juice of 1 Lime

  • 1/2 tsp. Dried Spearmint, finely chopped

  • 1/4 tsp. Chili powder

  • 1 can (15 oz.) of Goya Black beans

  • 1/2 cup Queso Fresco, finely shredded

  • 1/2 cup of corn (this is added to the pico de gallo mix)

  • 4 Tbsp. Sour Cream

  • (don't forget about the ingredients for the pico de gallo and guacamole mentioned in the link above!)


INSTRUCTIONS

  1. Cook rice as you normally would. Allow it to cook completely with no water left in the pot.

  2. While the rice is still hot, add the cilantro, lime juice, butter, and salt and pepper to taste. Mix evenly until all the butter has melted and the rest of the ingredients are thoroughly incorporated.

  3. Set aside and keep warm.

  4. In a large skillet, heat 1 Tbsp. Olive oil.

  5. While the oil is heating up, add the salt, black pepper, garlic powder, onion powder, paprika, lime juice, spearmint, and chili powder to the chicken and make sure the chicken is coated evenly with the spices.

  6. Add the chicken to the skillet and cook for about 15 minutes until cooked all the way with no pink, flipping the chicken halfway through.

  7. Pour the black beans into a skillet over medium heat. Sprinkle them with salt and pepper to taste and cook for about 5 minutes until warm.

  8. Make the pico de gallo dip and the guacamole dip.

  9. Add the corn to the pico de gallo dip.

  10. In the serving plate, add a scoop of rice, and top it with the black beans, chicken, pico de gallo, queso, guacamole and sour cream (2 Tbsp on each bowl).

  11. Serve and Enjoy!

461 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page