top of page
  • Writer's pictureAminah Yossef

Tomato and Basil Rice Skillet

I have recently been so obsessed with my cast iron skillet! It's so useful and I love the way that it cooks my food. It gives the dish a unique flavor and it's perfect for pan-searing meats. I made an entire rice and chicken dish using this large skillet and I was able to transfer it from the stove top straight to the oven. I first seared the chicken breasts and then I cooked some golden rice in chicken broth, fresh basil and diced tomatoes. I also added in some onions, bell peppers, and garlic for natural flavors and textures. Looking for an easy and delicious meal, with practically no mess? Then this is the meal for you!

I topped the cooked rice and chicken with extra chopped fresh basil to break up the color and to add some aroma to the dish.

If you prefer, you can use chicken thighs instead of chicken breasts, but I don't like the fat content on them so I choose not to use them.

When I first started my blog, I was really nervous to try out cooking in a cast-iron skillet. I didn't know all the techniques and methods to cooking with one. The first time I used it I completely ruined my dinner, however, after plenty of practice and research on how to successfully use one, I can't live without it! These past couple of weeks, I may have over-used this skillet but that doesn't bother me because I got some tasty meals out of it!


If you don't have a cast-iron skillet, I definitely suggest getting one! Personally I feel like meats taste better when cooked in it! However, if you don't have one, you can still make this dish using a regular skillet and then transfer the rice and chicken to a casserole dish before baking it in the oven.

 

Prep Time: 5 minutes Serves: 2 People

Cook Time: 50 minutes

Total Time: 55 minutes


INGREDIENTS:

  • 2 Boneless, Skinless Chicken Breasts, cut in half

  • 1 Tbsp. Olive Oil

  • 2 Cloves of Garlic, minced

  • 1/3 Yellow Onion, chopped

  • 1/2 Red Bell Pepper, chopped

  • 1/4 cup Sun Dried Tomatoes in Oil, chopped

  • 3/4 cup Golden Rice

  • 7 oz. Canned Diced Tomatoes with Juice

  • 7 oz. Chicken Broth

  • 1 tsp. Salt

  • 1/4 tsp. Black Pepper

  • 1/2 tsp. Oregano

  • 1/2 tsp. Dried Basil

  • 2 Tbsp. Fresh Basil, chopped


INSTRUCTIONS:

  1. Preheat the oven to 400 degrees Fahrenheit.

  2. Heat the olive oil in a large cast-iron skillet. Add in the chicken breast and pan-sear for 3-4 minutes on each side until golden brown on the outside. Remove from the skillet and place the chicken in a plate.

  3. Add in the garlic and toast it in the skillet for about a minute until fragrant. Add in the onions and bell peppers and saute them for about 5 minutes until they are transparent and softened.

  4. Stir in the sun dried tomatoes, rice, diced tomatoes and chicken broth. Season the rice and vegetables with salt, pepper, oregano, dried basil, and fresh basil.

  5. Simmer the rice and cook it in the sauce for about 5 minutes.

  6. Place the chicken back in the skillet and on top of the rice and bring it to a boil. Once it has reached a boil, cover the skillet with aluminum foil and transfer it to the preheated oven. Bake the rice and chicken for 30 minutes until the rice is fully cooked.

  7. Remove the foil and broil the chicken and rice for 5 minutes on high until the chicken is golden and a bit crispy.

  8. Serve and enjoy!



75 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page