top of page
  • Writer's pictureAminah Yossef

Potato and Onion Stew

I can't believe we're already more than a week into Ramadan! I have made a few different dishes, some already on my blog, and others that are newer that I know you all will love for Iftar! I made a Middle-Eastern style potato stew served alongside some Basmati rice and chicken on a can. I deep-fried some russet potatoes to give them a golden crispy texture, before adding them to an onion and chicken broth that I spiced using mild curry, chicken bullion cubes, bay leaves, cilantro, and some salt and pepper! It's such a light and delicious stew that can even be served as a soup! All you have to do is increase the broth on top of the potatoes. I enjoy this stew the most with a side of Middle Eastern salad as well for extra flavor and a nice cool mix to the warm earthy spices in the stew!

I used dried cilantro in my stew for a slightly milder flavor, however, you can use freshly minced cilantro as well for a bolder taste!

Frying the vegetables beforehand will allow them to maintain their shape in the stew without them becoming too soft and turning into a mashed potato.

Ever since I got married, there have been a few dishes that I picked up on from my mother-in-law. She's cooked dishes that I had never heard of before and I grew to absolutely love them, with this potato stew being one of them! I love how simple the spices are so that you can really get a taste of the potatoes in the stew and everything comes out absolutely lovely.


I decided to change things up a bit from the recipe my mother-in-law uses based on how I like to cook. For one, I decided not to add chicken. She boils chicken which becomes the base of her broth. If I were to add chicken, however, I would cook the chicken on the side to get it crispy and then add it in. I also used less curry for a milder taste as well. Both dishes are delicious in their own way! Try it out however you like!

 

Prep Time: 15 minutes Serves: 6 People

Cook Time: 35 minutes

Total Time: 50minutes


INGREDIENTS:

  • 4 Russet Potatoes, peeled and chopped

  • 2/3 cup Vegetable Oil

  • 1 Tbsp. Olive Oil

  • 1 Onion, diced

  • 2 Chicken Bullion Cubes, I use the Maggi Brand

  • 4 cups Water

  • 2 Bay Leaves

  • 1/4 tsp. Mild Curry

  • 1 Tbsp. Dried or Fresh Cilantro

  • 1 tsp. Dried Parsley

  • Salt and Pepper, to taste


INSTRUCTIONS:

  1. In a medium saucepan, heat the vegetable oil to a medium-high heat over the stove.

  2. Once the oil is ready for frying, place some of the chopped potatoes in the oil and deep fry them for about 5-6 minutes until they reach a light brown and are slightly crispy.

  3. Repeat with the rest of the potatoes in small batches so you don't overcrowd the pot.

  4. Set the fried potatoes aside on a paper towel-lined plate so any excess oil can be drained out.

  5. In a large pot, heat the olive oil over medium-high heat on the stove.

  6. Add in the onions and saute them until they are soft and transparent, about 6-8 minutes.

  7. Crush the chicken cubes and add them in to the onions and stir for about a minute until the flavors are released.

  8. Pour the water on top of the onions and chicken cubes. Add in the potatoes.

  9. Season the potatoes and water with the bay leaves, curry, cilantro, parsley, salt, and pepper. Mix the ingredients.

  10. Bring the stew to a rolling boil then reduce the heat to a simmer and allow the flavors to enhance for about 15 minutes.

  11. Serve and Enjoy!


141 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page