top of page
  • Writer's pictureAminah Yossef

Chilean Beef Skewers

I absolutely love kabob-like meats that I can grill indoors and serve with a rice platter and vegetables. I especially like using sirloin steaks to grill on skewers because they absorb flavor so well and pair well with vegetables. I went with a Chilean-inspired dish and chopped up some sirloin steaks, and seasoned them with bold flavors like garlic, oregano, cumin, and lime. I then attached them to skewers along with ripe cherry tomatoes, white mushrooms, and sweet red onions. I topped these with a green chimichurri sauce that really brought all of the flavors together beautifully on a platter of seasoned rice.

To enhance this dish, I drizzled some chimichurri sauce (not pictured) on top of the meat and vegetables. I attached the recipe below, it's a must-try!

You can add any vegetables you like! My favorites are bell peppers, onions, mushrooms, tomatoes, and zucchini!

Because I live in an apartment, I try to utilize my indoor grill as much as possible. I love making chicken and beef skewers because they are so easy and extremely filling! They are also very healthy and packed with yummy protein options and vegetables! I've mainly cooked chicken skewers so I decided to give it a try with some sirloin steaks, and it came out absolutely delicious! The subtlety in the mushrooms, the sweet crunch of the onions, and the tangy juice from the tomatoes all made the meat taste even better!


Because grilling can sometimes dry out the meat more, I like to pair it with a sauce that'll add some of that juice back in. I made a green chimichurri sauce that I've made before with some of my Mexican dishes and it was perfect for this meal! It added just a little bit of a spicy taste and it added some nice textures because of the cilantro, garlic, and onions in the mix. If you try this recipe, I definitely recommend making the sauce along with it!

 

Prep Time: 15 minutes Serves: 4 People

Cook Time: 30 minutes

Total Time: 45 minutes


INGREDIENTS:


For the Skewers:

  • 2 lb. Sirloin Steak, cut into 2'' pieces

  • 1/8 cup Olive Oil

  • Juice and Zest of 1 Lime

  • 3 Cloves Garlic, minced

  • 2 tsp. Salt

  • 1 tsp. Onion Powder

  • 1 tsp. Dried Oregano

  • 1/2 tsp. Black Pepper

  • 1/4 tsp. Dried Thyme

  • Cherry Tomatoes

  • White Mushrooms, thickly sliced

  • Red Onion, sliced in large pieces

For the Chimichurri Sauce:

  • 1 1/2 cups Cilantro, removed from the stems

  • 1/2 cup Olive Oil

  • Juice of 2 Limes

  • 1/2 of a Jalapeño

  • 1/3 cup Yellow Onion, chopped

  • 2 Cloves of Garlic

  • 1/2 tsp. Paprika

  • 1 tsp. Salt

  • 1/2 tsp. Black Pepper


INSTRUCTIONS:

  1. If using wooden skewers, pre-soak them in lukewarm water before assembly.

  2. In the meantime, add the chopped sirloin, olive oil, lime juice and zest, garlic, salt, onion powder, dried oregano, black pepper, and dried thyme in a Ziploc bag. Mix the ingredients around to coat the meat and set aside while you chop up the vegetables and preheat your grill.

  3. Once everything is ready for assembly, add the meat and vegetables to the skewers in whichever order you prefer. I added about 4 pieces of meat onto each skewer with a vegetable or two in between each piece of sirloin.

  4. Once the grill is ready, add the skewers for 5-7 minutes at a time, turning them in between halfway. I like my meat cooked well done so I had them on my George Foreman Grill for about 7 minutes each.

  5. In the meantime while the meat is cooking, place all the ingredients for the chimichurri sauce in the food processor and pulse the mixture for about 30 seconds until you get a thick sauce and the onions and garlic are minced.

  6. Serve the meat with the chimichurri sauce and enjoy!

Note: You can make this dish as a skillet meal. All you have to do is skip the skewers step and add in the meat to a skillet after it has marinated. Once the meat is cooked halfway, add in the vegetables to the skillet and continue cooking until the meat and vegetables are cooked. It's still as delicious, yet it's an easier alternative!



73 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page