top of page
  • Writer's pictureAminah Yossef

Beef and Vegetable Stew

Do you ever have that one dish that you don't have for a while and when you eat it you wonder why you don't make it more often?? Yeah, well.. this is mine! I always forget how much I absolutely love beef stew. It's such a hearty and flavorful meal that fills me up and is also fairly healthy! I used my slow cooker to make this delicious meal filled with potatoes, carrots, onions, chuck roast, and other amazing ingredients. The slow cooker is so nice to use if I'm having a busy day and I know I won't have time to do a lot of cooking. I threw all of the ingredients together in the large pot and allowed it to cook to perfection for about six hours before serving it with a side of my delicious garlic mashed potatoes!

I sprinkled some dry parsley on each bowl of stew to bring out some color and light flavor to the dish.

It's extremely important to brown the roast in a skillet before chopping. This helps keep the pieces from breaking apart and it also preserves a lot of flavor.

Earlier this week I was pretty busy and I didn't have too much time on my hands to make a meal for dinner so I decided to take out my extremely useful slow cooker. You all asked for more recipes using the slow cooker, and I have to say this is definitely one of my favorites. The flavors settle into the vegetables and meat so beautifully because of its longer cook.


When browning the roast before adding it into the slow cooker, I highly recommend using a cast iron skillet to do that with. The browning is perfected with the way that a cast iron skillet allows the meat to pan-fry in the oil. It gives the roast a perfect crust and allows the flavors to release into the rest of the meal. However, if you don't have a cast-iron skillet, you can use the same method with a normal skillet, you just need to add some time because it takes longer to brown.

 

Prep Time: 15 minutes Serves: 4 People

Cook Time: 6 hours

Total Time: 6 hours, and 15 minutes


INGREDIENTS

  • 2 Tbsp. Cooking Oil

  • 1 Chuck Tender Roast

  • 1 tsp. Salt

  • 1/2 tsp. Black Pepper

  • 1 Yellow Onion, chopped

  • 1 cup Baby Carrots, halved

  • 2 cups Baby Golden Potatoes, halved

  • 4 cups Beef Broth

  • 2 Tbsp. Tomato Paste

  • 1 Bay Leaf

  • 1 tsp. Thyme

  • 4 Cloves of Garlic, minced

  • 1 Tbsp. Worcestershire Sauce

  • 2 Tbsp. Butter, melted

  • 2 Tbsp. Flour

INSTRUCTIONS:

  1. Heat your slow cooker on low heat.

  2. In a cast iron skillet, heat the vegetable oil over medium-high heat.

  3. Season one teaspoon of the salt and the black pepper on both sides of the chuck roast. Add in the roast to the skillet and brown it for 6 minutes on each side until it has browned all over.

  4. Remove the chuck roast and set aside.

  5. Add in the onions and allow them to saute for about 4 minutes until they have slightly caramelize. *This will all take longer if using a regular skillet but you can follow all of the same instructions*

  6. Meanwhile, chop up the roast into bite-sized cubes.

  7. Add the potatoes, carrots, chuck roast, beef broth, rest of the salt, bay leaf, thyme, garlic, and Worcestershire sauce into the slow cooker. Stir the contents together until mixed evenly.

  8. Cook the stew covered on low for 6 hours, until meat is tender and vegetables are cooked well and flavored.

  9. After the stew has been cooking for 5 hours, mix the butter and flour into a small bowl and pour it over the contents. Mix the the flour mix into the stew until you see it thickening.

  10. Allow it to cook for the remaining hour. Serve alone or with my amazing garlic mashed potato side dish!

Mashed Potatoes Link - https://aminahy017.wixsite.com/born-a-petite/menu/grilled-chicken-kabobs-and-garlic-mashed-potatoes


122 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comentarios


bottom of page