top of page
  • Writer's pictureAminah Yossef

Avocado and Tomato Grilled Chicken

I love cooking with chicken, and because I use it a lot, I have experimented with many different combinations and dishes using it. Out of all of the ingredients I have used to cook with chicken, I realized that one of my favorite things to add when cooking chicken is honey. Honey adds a slight sweetness to the protein while caramelizing the outside, depending on how it's cooked. In this dish, I cooked some honey glazed chicken breasts in a cast iron-skillet and topped them off with cheese, tomatoes, and avocados. It's a perfect source of protein and perfect to serve over a bed of rice or greens!

I whipped up a quick delicious avocado ranch dressing that I drizzled over the chicken for a final touch!

The cast-iron skillet really gave the chicken the caramelized crunch that I was hoping for!

Because I am not a seafood eater, or a lover of certain meats like lamb, I have to get creative with the protein that I do like to eat. Chicken breast is such a versatile meat that is used in almost every place in the world. I decided to create a fancier dinner

item using chicken breast that is glazed with a honey and garlic marinade. I topped this delicious chicken with mozzarella cheese and steamed tomatoes and avocados.

The chicken is perfect just as mentioned above, but I wanted to add even more flavor that I knew would pair great with the fresh vegetables. I made a very simple avocado and buttermilk ranch dressing that I simply drizzled over everything right before serving. According to my husband, this was one of the best ways I have ever cooked chicken and he absolutely loved the sauce on top! Give it a try and you will definitely thank me!

 

Prep Time: 25 minutes Serves: 2 People

Cook Time: 20 minutes

Total Time: 45 minutes


INGREDIENTS

  • 2 Boneless, Skinless Chicken Breasts

  • 1/4 cup Honey

  • 3 Cloves of Garlic, minced

  • 2 Tbsp. Olive Oil

  • 1 tsp. Italian Seasoning

  • 1 tsp. Garlic Sriracha Spice

  • 1/2 tsp. Salt

  • 1/4 tsp. Black Pepper

  • 1 Tbsp. Cilantro, chopped

  • 2 Tbsp. Canola Oil

  • 2 Slices of Mozzarella Cheese

  • 1/4 cup Roma Tomatoes, diced

  • 1/4 cup Avocado, diced

For the Dressing:

  • 1/2 cup Buttermilk Ranch

  • 1/2 Avocado, smashed very fine

  • Juice of 1/2 Lime

  • 1 Tbsp. Cilantro, finely chopped


INSTRUCTIONS:

  1. In a small bowl, coat the chicken breast with the honey, garlic, olive oil, Italian seasoning, sriracha spice, salt, pepper, and cilantro.

  2. Cover the chicken and marinate in the fridge for 20 minutes.

  3. Heat a medium skillet, I used a cast-iron, with 2 Tbsp. Canola Oil over medium heat.

  4. Add in the marinated chicken. Cook the chicken for 6-8 minutes, until the bottom begins to turn a golden brown, then flip over and cook for another 6-8 minutes.

  5. Repeat this process until the chicken is cooked through and caramelized on the outside.

  6. Remove the skillet from heat and add the slices of cheese over the chicken. Allow it to melt.

  7. Top the cheese and chicken with the avocado and tomatoes and sprinkle with salt and pepper to taste.

  8. Cover the skillet and allow the steam the slightly cook the tomatoes and avocado, about 1-2 minutes.

  9. Combine all of the ingredients for the dressing, and drizzle it over the chicken.

  10. Serve immediately and enjoy!



23 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page