top of page
  • Writer's pictureAminah Yossef

Sundried Tomato and Mushroom Spaghetti

This Valentines Day, my husband and I decided to stay in and have a delicious dinner and movie night. I knew I wanted to go with pasta because of its fancier background and Italian name. I chose the long spaghetti pasta for a prettier look and created my own sauce that was filled with beautiful flavors like mushrooms, kalamatas, fresh basil, and tomatoes. At the end, I added heavy whipping cream to create a creamy touch to the tomato base of the sauce, but I still kept it light and flavorful!

Top the dish with Parmesan and Panko-crusted chicken breasts for added protein and a more filling dish.

I made some homemade garlic bread on the side by baking ciabatta bread that was brushed in an olive oil, butter, garlic powder, and parsley mix!

My husband and I don't do much for Valentine’s Day but we do like to do something special at home. Before our movie night, I made this delicious pasta that I have never made before. I knew what I wanted the base to be but I created the sauce along the way as I cooked. I first sautéed the vegetables in butter and then added some aromatic spices to lift the flavors of the mushrooms, olives, and tomatoes. I decided to top off the sauce with some chicken Parmesan that I cut into strips. I finally garnished the pasta and the chicken with freshly shredded Parmesan cheese and parsley flakes. I truly did not expect this dish to turn out as good as it did, but it was amazing! The light sauce really brought the pasta to a whole new level in the world of Italian cuisine.

 

Prep Time: 15 minutes Serves: 2 People

Cook Time: 30 minutes

Total Time: 45 minutes


INGREDIENTS

  • 8 oz. Spaghetti Pasta, cooked and drained according to box

  • 1 Tbsp. Olive Oil

  • 2 Tbsp. Butter

  • 1/2 cup Baby Bell Mushrooms, sliced

  • 1/2 cup Cherry Tomatoes, sliced in half

  • 3 Cloves Garlic, minced

  • 1/4 cup Kalamata Olives, pitted

  • 1 Tbsp. Tomato Paste

  • 1/4 cup Water

  • 8 oz. Tomato Sauce

  • 3 Leaves of Fresh Basil, whole

  • 1 tsp. Oregano

  • 1 tsp. Dried Basil

  • 2 Tbsp. Flat Leaf Parsley, removed from stems

  • Salt and Pepper, to taste

  • 1/2 cup Heavy Whipping Cream

  • Parmesan cheese, finely shredded

INSTRUCTIONS:

  1. In a large, deep skillet, heat the olive oil and butter over medium heat until the butter is melted.

  2. Add in the mushrooms, tomato, and garlic for 3-4 minutes until the garlic is fragrant, and the tomatoes are softened.

  3. Stir in the kalamata olives and cook them until they begin to dry.

  4. Add in the tomato paste, water, tomato sauce, fresh basil, oregano, and dry basil to the skillet and bring to a low boil.

  5. Sprinkle in the parsley and pour in the heavy cream. Season with salt and pepper and adjust to your liking. Bring to another rolling boil.

  6. Stir occasionally until the sauce is thick and the vegetables are softened.

  7. You can either add in the pasta at this time, or serve the sauce on top of the cooked spaghetti.

  8. Top with Parmesan cheese and optional chicken breast.

  9. Serve and Enjoy with Ciabatta garlic bread!


33 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comentários


bottom of page