top of page
  • Writer's pictureAminah Yossef

Pan de Bono - Colombian Cheese Bread

Pan de Bono is a delicious and cheesy appetizer that is very popular in Colombian cuisine. Its main ingredients include tapioca flour, feta cheese, Mexican corn flour and a few other delicious additions. These yummy mini cheese breads take about half an hour to make and bake and will be devoured in even less time, I can assure you that! The fluffy appetizers are usually served with Colombian hot chocolate or coffee as a light brunch, but they can also be served on the sides of soups and stews. This is one of my favorite Colombian recipes because it's so easy but they taste incredible!

Once they have reached a slight golden brown color in the oven, then they are ready to be served immediately alongside a hot drink or a warm meal!

You can substitute the tapioca flour for cassava flour, and the Mexican corn flour for fine semolina, but I truly prefer the tastes of the ingredients I chose!

Many don't know that I am part Colombian, and during my childhood we weren't exposed to that side of of our culture as much as I would have hoped for. As I got older and found a love for cooking, I decided I wanted to showcase my Colombian culture through the art of food. I am slowly learning the beautiful dishes of my grandma's homeland and they are absolutely delicious. Colombian food is known for its simplicity yet the dishes are packed with flavor!


These mini breads are just a glimpse into how incredible the Colombian cuisine is. I personally enjoy them with a nice warm cup of Colombian hot chocolate in the evenings as a light snack after dinner. The bread is more on the salty side so it is a delicious balance with the sweet cocoa. You guys asked for Colombian dishes and I hope to thoroughly represent all of my cultures for you all!

 

Prep Time: 15 minutes Yields: 18-20 Mini Breads

Cook Time: 15 minutes

Total Time: 30 minutes


INGREDIENTS

  • 2 cups Feta Cheese

  • 2 Eggs

  • 1 cup Tapioca Flour

  • 3 Tbsp. Pre-Cooked Yellow Mexican Corn Flour

  • 2 tsp. Sugar

  • 1 tsp. Salt

  • 3 Tbsp. Milk


INSTRUCTIONS:

  1. In a food processor, finely chop the feta cheese until it is smooth with no large chunks of cheese.

  2. In a small bowl, whisk together two eggs. Set aside.

  3. In a large bowl, add the finely chopped feta cheese, tapioca flour, Mexican corn flour, sugar and salt. Roughly mix the ingredients together.

  4. Add in the eggs and mix until the ingredients begin to form a ball of dough.

  5. Pour in the 3 Tbsp. of milk and mix the dough very well until it is a smooth yet slightly sticky ball of dough.

  6. Preheat the oven to 350 degrees Fahrenheit.

  7. On a greased baking tray, roll about 18-20 3-inch balls of dough. Place them about 2 inches apart from each other. The dough is a bit sticky, so I suggest rubbing a bit of vegetable oil onto your hands to roll them easily.

  8. Once all the balls are rolled, bake them in the oven for 15 minutes on the middle rack, until they are fluffy and a very light golden brown. If you feel like they are lacking color, you can broil them for two minutes after baking to give a more golden color.

  9. Serve immediately, or allow to cool on a cooling rack before storing them in an air-tight container.

115 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comentários


bottom of page