top of page
  • Writer's pictureAminah Yossef

Orange 'Creamsicle' Cookies

One of my favorite flavors to add into desserts is citrus. I love the tangy and fresh taste it adds to sweet treats, like these cookies. I decided to recreate the creamsicle ice cream into a cookie and it was delicious! The white chocolate chips added a creamy vanilla flavor and texture and I added orange flavors in three different ways to really bring out a natural orange taste and aroma. I used orange juice, orange zest, and orange extract to create a slightly rich yet smooth and fluffy cookie that I know you all are going to love! These are perfect to make on this gloomy, rainy day as a nice and bright pick me up!

I garnished even more orange zest right after I took the cookies out of the oven so that I could get optimal taste!

Before throwing these into the oven, I gently pressed in a few white chocolate chips on to the tops of each cookie dough ball for nice texture and presentation!

I've always loved citrus-y desserts like lemon cake, but ever since I got married to my husband he has given me a whole new appreciation for them! He absolutely loves orange and lemon flavored sweets so when I came across some inspiration for these cookies I knew I had to surprise him with them! They are so light and fluffy that I almost ate the whole batch in one sitting!


One important thing to note when making this is not to flatten them at all when rolling the dough into balls before baking! This will make the cookies hard and they won't keep their nice fluffy shape. So be sure to use a tablespoon to measure the amount and keep the balls of dough rounded!

 

Prep Time: 20 minutes Yields: 2 Dozen

Cook Time: 8 minutes

Total Time: 28 minutes


INGREDIENTS

  • 2 1/2 cups Flour

  • 3/4 tsp. Baking Soda

  • 1/2 tsp. Salt

  • 8 oz. Butter, softened

  • 1/2 cup Sugar

  • 1/2 cup Brown Sugar, packed

  • 1 Egg

  • 1 tsp. Vanilla

  • 1/2 tsp. Orange Extract

  • 3 Tbsp. Orange Zest

  • 2 Tbsp. Orange Juice

  • 1 cup White Chocolate Chips

For Garnish:

  • Extra white chocolate chips and orange zest

INSTRUCTIONS:

  1. Preheat the oven to 375 degrees Fahrenheit.

  2. In a bowl, combine the flour, baking soda and salt. Mix the dry ingredients and set aside.

  3. In another bowl, cream the butter, sugar, and brown sugar together until you have a light and fluffy consistency, about 30 seconds.

  4. Add in the egg, vanilla, and orange extract and continue mixing with an electric mixer to combine the ingredients.

  5. Slowly add in the dry ingredients until the dough starts to form. Fold in the orange zest, white chocolate chips, and orange juice until all the ingredients are mixed in evenly within the cookie dough.

  6. Using a rounded tablespoon, measure out balls of cookie dough and place them on a parchment paper-lined baking tray about 3 inches apart from each other.

  7. Place the cookie trays on the middle rack and bake them for 8 minutes, until the bottoms are a golden brown.

  8. Do not over bake them! Don't wait until the sides and top are golden. The cookies won't be soft. They will be ready after 8 minutes and will continue to slightly cook after you remove them from the oven and keep them on the tray for 10 minutes to cool.

  9. Serve immediately and enjoy or store in an airtight container for up to five days.



21 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page