top of page
  • Writer's pictureAminah Yossef

Asian Garlic Noodles

Updated: Oct 18, 2019

I absolutely love Asian noodles, specifically vegetable lo mein. It's one of my go-to's when ordering takeout or when eating at a restaurant! I decided to create a lo mein-inspired dish using ingredients that I found in my pantry. It was a quick 30 minute meal that I put together and it came out absolutely delicious. I made it vegetarian, and added zucchini, mushrooms, carrots, and bell peppers. These natural flavors combined with Asian ingredients like soy sauce, chili paste, and sweet and sour sauce were a perfect match! I served these noodles with spring rolls for a quick and tasty dinner!

Sprinkle some cilantro on top for added flavor! It brings an earthy tone that pairs well with the more salty ingredients.

I made sure to saute my vegetables first so that they weren't too soft when serving. This gave them a bit of texture and they were able to maintain their shape and flavor!

For this meal, I knew I had to substitute the traditional egg noodles with something else because I didn't have them on hand. Instead, I used boiled spaghetti and the dish came out amazing! Spaghetti has a very similar texture to the thinner egg noodles so it worked out well and I was still able to maintain a very authentic and delicious feel to the dish.


I added a decent amount of chili paste because I wanted this to be on the more medium to hot level of spiciness. I feel like that added a tasty kick to the dish. However, if you're cooking for the family and have kids, you can halve the amount that I suggested or you can substitute it with tomato paste just to maintain that texture!

 

Prep Time: 10 minutes Serves: 6 People

Cook Time: 30 minutes

Total Time: 40 minutes


INGREDIENTS:

  • 16 oz. Spaghetti

  • 2/3 cup Soy Sauce

  • 4 Cloves Garlic, minced

  • 3 Tbsp. Brown Sugar, packed

  • 1 Tbsp. Fresh Ginger, grated

  • 1 Tbsp. Fresh Chili Paste

  • 1 Tbsp. Sweet and Sour Sauce

  • 1/2 tsp. Sesame Oil

  • 1 Tbsp. Vegetable Oil

  • 1 cup White Mushrooms, sliced

  • 1 Zucchini, chopped

  • 1 Red Bell Pepper, chopped

  • 1 Large Carrot, grated

  • 1 Tbsp. Cilantro, minced


INSTRUCTIONS:

  1. Boil the spaghetti according to the package and allow it to cook till al dente. Drain them and set aside.

  2. In a small bowl, whisk together the soy sauce, garlic, brown sugar, ginger, chili paste, sweet and sour sauce, and sesame oil. Combine the ingredients evenly and set aside.

  3. In a wok, heat the vegetable oil over medium-high heat. Add in the mushrooms, zucchini, bell pepper, carrot, and a few tablespoons of the sauce and saute them for 5-6 minutes until they are just cooked through.

  4. Add in the cooked spaghetti and the rest of the sauce. Mix all of the ingredients together and be sure to coat the noodles and vegetables with the sauce.

  5. Cook the noodles for another 3-4 minutes until the noodles have soaked up some of the flavors. Add in the cilantro and serve immediately.



211 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page